Latest, Trending, Entertainment and Celebrity News

NFL Honors 2022: Aaron Rodgers earns second-straight MVP, Super Bowl teams come up big, Hall of Fame entrants

The Bengals and the Rams weren’t just the two best teams in the NFL this year, they were also two of the biggest winners during the “NFL Honors” ceremony on Thursday.

On a night where Aaron Rodgers was named NFL MVP for the second straight year, both Super Bowl teams also came away as big winners.

On the Bengals’ end, they’ll be leaving Los Angeles with two awards thanks to Ja’Marr Chase and Joe Burrow. The Bengals receiver took home the Offensive Rookie of the Year award, marking the first time since 1992 that the team has had a player claim that award.

As for Burrow, he earned the Comeback Player of the Year award after beating out Dak Prescott in what was the tightest vote of the night. The Bengals quarterback received 28 out of 50 votes while Prescott ended up just behind him with 21 votes.

Although Prescott didn’t get the award, one of his teammates did win something.

Not only did Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons get named the Defensive Rookie of the Year, but he also became the first player in NFL history to win the award unanimously.

As for Rodgers, he was voted MVP for the fourth time, trailing just Peyton Manning for the most MVPs in NFL history (Manning, who presented Rodgers with this year’s award, was named MVP a total of five times). Rodgers also became just the fifth player to win the award in back-to-back years.

Rodgers, who was in attendance to collect his award, thanked the Packers’ front office in his MVP speech. However, that doesn’t necessarily mean he’ll be returning to Green Bay. In an interview after accepting the award, the Packers QB said “I have not made any decision yet” about his future.

Here’s a look at all the awards that were handed out on Thursday night:

  • AP Most Valuable Player: Aaron Rodgers (Packers)
  • AP Coach of the Year: Mike Vrabel (Titans)
  • AP Offensive Player of the Year: Cooper Kupp (Rams)
  • AP Defensive Player of the Year: T.J. Watt (Steelers)
  • AP Comeback Player of the Year: Joe Burrow (Bengals)
  • AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Ja’Marr Chase (Bengals)
  • AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Michah Parsons (Cowboys)
  • AP Assistant Coach of the year: Dan Quinn (Cowboys)
  • Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year: Andrew Whitworth (Rams)
  • Hall of Fame class: LeRoy Butler, Bryant Young, Sam Mills, Cliff Branch, Richard Seymour, Art McNally, Tony Boselli and Dick Vermeil.
  • FedEx Air Player of the Year: Tom Brady (Buccaneers)
  • FedEx Ground Player of the Year: Jonathan Taylor (Colts)

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year: Justin Tucker (66-yard field goal)

Comments are closed.