Latest, Trending, Entertainment and Celebrity News

The Tour that Has You Questioning “What’s My Age Again?”

The popular award-winning pop-punk band, Blink-182 are back together and is set to go on a world tour with their new single Edging which will be released on Friday, 14 October 2022. The track marks the first time they will be recording or sharing the stage in a decade. They also plan on producing a new album soon.

The ‘What’s My Age Again’ rockers announced the news on social media with a video captioned “We’re coming. Tour’s coming. Album’s coming. Tom’s coming. Tickets on sale Monday. New song “Edging” out Friday.” The 2023 worldwide tour dates are planned in London, Manchester, Belfast, Glasgow, and Dublin. News of the band’s return has sent waves of excitement through the Blink-182 fandom, and as a result, demand for tickets to their upcoming tour is already through the roof.

Blink 182’s history

The American rock band, formed in 1992 in Poway, California consists of bassist/vocalist Mark Hoppus (50 years), drummer Travis Barker (46 years), and guitarist/vocalist Tom DeLonge (46 years). Initially, the band’s original line-up featured Scott Raynor on drums, but he was fired in 1998 and replaced by Travis Barker.

The Southern-Californian punk rock band, notable for the humorous and often uplifting lyrical content of their songs, gained mainstream success in the early 2000s and has gone on to sell up to 55 million album copies. Though the pop-punk trend faded, Blink -182 has remained chart favourites, scoring five Top Ten albums and two number-one Billboard 200 hits, including 2016’ ‘California’.

The band members went their separate ways in 2005 before reuniting in 2009. However, DeLonge stepped away from the band again in 2015.

The Tour that Has You Questioning “What’s My Age Again?”

After quitting the band twice and returning twice – both times a decade apart, DeLonge is re-joining bandmates for the first time in seven years. For those years, his place was taken by Matt Skiba of the Alkaline Trio band. In 2015, Hoppus and Barker were informed by DeLonge’s manager that he (DeLonge) was leaving, causing some animosity at the time.

The reason for the band’s split in 2015 is rather unclear, with members each declaring different causes. After leaving the group, he continued playing and touring with his band, Angels and Airwaves, and also became a UFO researcher. In 2020, the Pentagon declassified UFO videos shared by DeLonge’s company.

Reunited and Ready to Tour

The pop-punk icons, after being on a ‘hiatus’ for almost 10 years, have re-united to go on seven months tour starting next year to end in early 2024. This will be their biggest tour ever as the concerts have been confirmed in the UK, Europe, New Zealand, Australia, North America, and Latin America as a first.

The tour announcement features multiple festival appearances in Latin America and the US, which include Lollapalooza alongside co-headliners Billie Eilish and Drake, and the 2023 edition of While We Were Young with Green Day among others.

They will also be joined by special guests on their tour which includes Turnstile in America, Wallows in Latin America, The Story So Far in Europe, and Rise Against in Australia. The band will be supported by Story So Far on all their UK dates.

Tour dates for the UK

What was initially announced as just five shows, has been extended to include extra dates in Glasgow, London, and Manchester.

  • Sep 1 – Glasgow, UK – OVO Hydro
  • Sep 2 – Glasgow, UK – OVO Hydro
  • Sep 4 – Belfast, UK – SSE Arena
  • Sep 5 – Dublin, Ireland – 3Arena
  • Oct 11- London, UK – The O2 Arena
  • Oct 12- London, UK – The O2 Arena
  • Oct 14 – Birmingham, UK – Utilita Arena
  • Oct 15 – Manchester, UK – AO Arena
  • Oct 16 – Manchester, UK – AO Arena

Looking for concert tickets? Viva Seats is the go-to online ticket marketplace that gets you to the biggest and best live events across the UK and beyond.

Comments are closed.